wwaugusttour51All my bags are packed, I’m ready to go – not quite, three more days until take-off and lots to do! On Saturday I’ll be leaving for six weeks in Europe, teaching, recording, performing, presenting in three countries. I will make sure to report frequently on the different phases of the adventure and progress on each project. It’s quite amazing how all the different parts of the puzzle came together to create this big picture – here it is!

Sunday, June 26 – arrive in Stuttgart, Germany and drive to my Mom’s house in Albstadt

Matt RiggenMonday, June 27 – travel from Albstadt to Cologne with the Indiana Jazz Exchange combo featuring Matthew Riggen – trumpet, Quinn Sternberg – bass, Josh Roberts – drums and visit the Music Conservatory in Cologne

Tuesday, June 28 – Observe rehearsal of the WDR Big Band with Danilo Perez, evening concert at the Loft in Cologne with Indiana Jazz Exchange as well as Andre Nendza’s Jazz House students, the concert will be recorded

Wednesday, June 29 – Tour of Cologne, evening concert in the Court House of Polz

Thursday, June 30 – Travel to Berlin and teach an afternoon workshop on career development for the University of the Arts in Berlin

Friday, July 1 – Lunch Concert for the Gateway Office in Berlin with the Indiana Jazz Exchange, free and open to the public, travel back to Albstadt

Saturday, July 2 – Travel from Stuttgart to Graz/ Austria and settle in at Hotel Weitzer for the IUjazzinstitutgraz Overseas Course “Comparative Music Industry”

Sunday, July 3 – Welcome Reception at the Jazzinstitut Graz for the 12 Indiana University students arriving for the IU Overseas Course “Comparative Music Industry”

Monday – Thursday, July 4-7 – Class Sessions with daily guest experts

Friday, July 8 – Class excursion to Vienna with sight-seeing of the city and evening visit to Vienna jazz club Porgy & Bess

Saturday, July 9 – Class excursion to Salzburg

Sunday, July 10 – Hiking in the Styrian MountainsIMG_0264

Monday – Friday, July 11 – 15 – Class Sessions with daily guest experts, concert on Wednesday, July 13 with Russ Spiegel, Farewell party on Friday, July 15, travel back to Albstadt, Germany

Saturday, July 16 – Friday, July 22 – Recordings with The Time Flies, Restoration of recordings with Bob Berg for limited analog LP release

Artsgarden2Saturday, July 23 – It’s Peter’s Birthday and we will celebrate with an amazing concert featuring The Time Flies with the Monika Roscher Big Band in Albstadt’s Thalia Theater, Germany friends this is a must!!!!

Sunday, July 24 – Concert with the Wueste Welle Big Band in Radolfzell

Monday, July 25 – Friday, July 29 – ISME Conference in Glasgow, Scotland. Monday presentation: New Models for Jazz Education, Tuesday presentation: Fame and Fortune – Music Industry Reality Game, Wednesday Concert: Monika Herzig & Peter Kienle

Friday, July 29 – Travel back to Albstadt, GermanyISME

Sunday, August 1 – Travel back to Bloomington, Indiana

And look for diary reports, European friends – hope to see you all, and fromLayout 1 anywhere in the world, make sure to reserve your copy of The Whole World in Her Hands!!!

See you soon

Monika